Shafi'i Fiqh

Register Now

Shafi`i Fiqh is the legacy of Imam Muhammad ibn Idris al-Shafi`i (150/767 -204/820), student of Imam Malik and Muhammad ibn al-Hasan al-Shaybani. It is one of the four madhahib of Sunni Islam.

After extensive study with the great ulema of his age, al-Shafi`i established a legal methodology on four bases: the Quran, hadith, analogy and scholarly consensus (ijma).

The madhhab was expanded and developed at the hands of great scholars such as Imam al-Muzani, Ibn al-Khuzayma, Ibn al-Mundhir, Imam al-Baghawi, Imam al-Juwayni, Imam al-Ghazali, and Imam al-Nawawi. Other notable Shafi’i scholars incluse Imam al-Tabari, al-Bayhaqi, Ibn al-Kathir, Ibn Hajar al-Asqalani, and al-Suyuti.


Courses on Qibla that teach Shafi`i Fiqh or deal with it include


LAS111 – Maqasid – Part One
LAS112 – Maqasid – Part Two


LAS211 – Reliance of the Traveller – Part One
LAS212 – Reliance of the Traveller – Part Two
LAS213 – Reliance of the Traveller – Part Three
LAS214 – Reliance of the Traveller – Part Four


LMT101 – The Historical Development of Islamic Law
LMT102 – Sources of Islamic Law
LMT201 – al-Waraqat Explained